Commanders of the Desert Mounted Corps

Harry Chauvel became the first Australian to be promoted to the rank of acting Lieutenant General, and the first to command a corps. He was called on to lead the Desert Mounted Corps when it was formed in 1917 after the Second Battle of Gaza.
Photograph above was taken of the General in the grounds of the new government house, the Kaiser's former show piece the "Augusta Victoria", in Jerusalem circa 1918.
Top right: collar badge of the 4th Australian Light Horse Regiment. The 4th holds special place in the history of the Desert Mounted Corps as they, along with the 12th ALH, took Beersheba with a fontal cavalry charge with bayonets drawn under orders from "Harry".



When the Desert Mounted Corps officially came into
being, it was constituted as follows :

Commander : Lieutenant-General Sir Harry Chauvel, K.C.B.,
K.C.M.G., Australian Imperial Forces.

Commander : Major-General Sir E. W. C. Chaytor, K.C.M.G.,
C.B,, p.s.c, A.D.C., New Zealand Imperial Forces.

1st Australian Light Horse Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General C. F. Cox, C.B., C.M.G.,
D.S.O., A.I.F.
1st, 2nd, and 3rd Regiments Australian light Horse.

2nd Australian Light Horse Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General G. de L. Ryrie, C.B., C.M.G.,
5th, 6th, and 7th Regiments Australian Light Horse.

New Zealand Mounted Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General W. Meldrum C.M.G.,D.S.O.,
Auckland, Canterbury, and Wellington Regiments of
Mounted Rifles.

18th Brigade R.HA. (Inverness, Ayrshire, and
Somerset Batteries) and Divisional Ammunition

Commander : Major-General Sir G. de S. Barrow, K.C.M.G.,
C.B., p.s.c, Indian Army.

6th Mounted Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General C.A.C. Godwin, D.S.O., I.A.
Dorset, Bucks, and Berks Yeomanry Regiments.

8th Mounted Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General C. S. Rome, D.S.O.
1st City of London and 1st and 3rd County of London
Yeomanry Regiments.

22nd Mounted Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General F. A. B. Fryer (relinquished
command December 1917).
Brigadier-General P. D. FitzGerald, D.S.O, p.s.c.
Stafford, Lincoln, and East Riding Yeomanry Regiments.

20th Brigade R.H.A. (Berks, Hants, and Leicester
Batteries) and Divisional Ammunition Column.

Commander : Major-General Sir H. W. Hodgson, K.C.M.G.,
C.V.O., C.B.

3rd Australian Light Horse Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General L. C. Wilson, C.M.G.,
D.S.O., A.I.F.
8th, 9th, and 10th Regiments Australian Light Horse.

4th Australian Light Horse Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General W. Grant, C.M.G., D.S.O.,
4th, 11th, and 12th Regiments Australian Light Horse.

5th Mounted Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General P. D. Fitzgerald, D.S.O.,
p.s.c. (relinquished command November 1917).
Brigadier-General P. J. V. Klly, C.M.G.,

19th Brigade R.H.A. (' A ' and ' B ' Batteries Honourable
Artillery Company, and Notts Battery R.HA.)
and Divisional Ammunition Column.


7th Mounted Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General J. T. Wigan, C.M.G., D.S.O.,
(relinquished command December 1917).
Brigadier-General G. V. Clarke, D.S.O,
Sherwood Rangers, South Notts and Herts Yeomanry
Regiments, with Essex Battery R.H.A., and Brigade
Ammunition Column.

Imperial Camel Corps Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General S. Smith, F.C, D.S.O.
Two Australian and one British Camel Battalions,
with the Hong Kong and Singapore Mountain Battery

After the reorganisation consequent on the despatch
of many of the Yeomanry regiments to France, in
April and May 1918, and the arrival of Indian Cavalry
Regiments from Europe, the Corps was expanded
into four divisions as follows :

Commander : Major-General Sir G. de S. Barrow,
K.C.M.G., etc.

10th Cavalry Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General W. G. K. Green, D.S.O.,
Dorset Yeomanry, 2nd Lancers, 38th Central India

11th Cavalry Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General C.L.Gregory, C.B.,p.s.c.,I.A.
1st County of London Yeomanry, 29th Lancers, 36th
Jacob's Horse.

12th Cavalry Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General J. T. Wigan, C.M.G., D.S.O.
Stafford Yeomanry, 6th Cavalry, 1 9th Lancers.

20th Brigade R.H.A. and Divisional Ammunition

Commander : Major-General Sir H, J. M. MacAndrew,
K.C.M.G., C.B., D.S.O., Indian Army.

13th Cavalry Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General P. J. V. Klly, C.M.G.,
D.S.O. (relinquished command September
Brigadier-General G. A. Weir, D.S.O.
Gloucester Yeomanry, 9th Hodson's Horse, 1 8th
14th Cavalry Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General G. V. Clarke, D.S.O.
Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry, 20th Deccan Horse, 34th
Poona Horse.

15th (Imperial Service) Cavalry Brigade.
Commander : Brigadier-General C. R. Harbord, D.S.O., LA.
Jodhpur, Mysore and 1st Hyderabad Lancers.

' B ' Battery H.A.C. and Essex Battery R.H.A.,
with Divisional Ammunition Column.


The Anzac and the Australian Mounted Divisions
remained the same, except that the 5th Mounted
[Indian] regiments were all maintained by the Ruling Princes of their
respective States in India.


Brigade was replaced in the latter by the 5th A.L.H.
Brigade, which consisted of the 14th and 15th Regiments
A.L.H. (composed of men of the Camel Corps
Brigade, which had been disbanded after the second
trans-Jordan raid), and the French Regiment Mixte
de Cavaleric. Swords were issued to the Australian
Mounted Division at the beginning of August 1918,
and the men had about six weeks' training in the
use of them before the operations commenced. The
Australian troopers took to their new weapon enthusiastically,
and showed, later on, that they knew how to use it.

During the 1917 operations, the infantry were
organised as follows :

20th corps.
Commander : Lieutenant-General Sir Philip Chetwode, Bart.,
K.C.B., K.C.M.G., D.S.O.

10th Division.
Commander : Major-General J. R. Longley, C.B., C.M.G.

53rd Division.
Commander : Major-General S. F. Mott, C.B., p.s.c.

60th Division.
Commander : Major-General Sir J. S. M. Shea, K C M G
D.S.O., p.s.c., LA.

74th Division.
Commander : Major-General E. S. Girdwood, C.B.

21st CORPS.
Commander : Lieutenant-General Sir Edward Bulfin K. C. B.,

52nd Division.
Commander : Major-General J. Hill, C.B., D.S.O.
A.D.C., I.A.

54th Division.
Commander : Major-General S. W. Hare, C.B.

75th Division.
Commander : Major-General P. C. Palin, C.B., C.M.G., I.A.

On the reorganisation of the infantry in the
spring of 1918, the 3rd (Lahore) and 7th (Meerut)
Divisions replaced the 52nd and 74th Divisions, which
were sent to France. The 3rd was commanded by
Major-General A. R. Hoskins, C.M.G., D.S.O., p.s.c,
and the 7tli by Major-General Sir V. B. Fane,
K.C.LE., C.B.

Three-quarters of the British troops in all divisions
except the 54th were replaced by Indians.

(Source pages 331-336 The Desert Mounted Corps.)